SKYPE: Andy Layhe - Bike Pure info at

Netherlands Olympia’s Tour and Bike Pure Join Forces


Press Release: 4.4.13

On Thursday, 4 April, the organisation of the Royal Smilde Olympia’s Tour 2013 announced the definitive route for the 61st edition of oldest state race in the Netherlands. This week, the municipality of Katwijk signed on as the start of the Tour on the 13th of May.

Partnership Bike Pure
In light of the recent developments, Royal Smilde Olympia’s Tour sees the importance of a clean sport. Therefore a decision has been made to engage in a supporting partnership with the independent organisation Bike Pure, which promotes a fair and clean sport of cycling.

Chairman of Bike Pure Andy Layhe is pleased with the partnership: “Bike Pure are pleased to partner the 60th edition of the Royal Smilde Olympia’s Tour, the oldest and most prolific stage race on the Dutch cycling calendar. The Olympia’s Tour has long been an established breeding ground for young and aspiring riders, providing a stepping stone into the wider ranks of the professional peleton. Dutch cycling suffers as a direct result of doping scandals but it is implementing some preventative measures that will hopefully see the sport moving into a healthier position in future. We are delighted to see events such as the Royal Smilde Olympia’s Tour supporting ethical sport. Jetse Bol, who won the Olympia’s Tour in 2011 is one of our most respected and established role models so it’s a natural partnership between Bike Pure and Olympia’s.”

Organiser of Olympia’s Tour Frank Boelé adds: “The Bike Pure logo will adorn the jersey of this years race leader, sending a clear signal that the sport is changing. As organiser we support a clean and fair sport. With this supporting partnership we want to underscore the importance the organisation places on safeguarding the investments made in the sport.”

Olympias Tour Netherlands Bike Pure

The 2013 schedule will bring stages to various corners of the Netherlands. On the 13th of May, Olympia’s Tour will start with a prologue in Katwijk. The beautiful Dutch coastal town makes its debut as the location of a stage. The first stage will begin in Noordwijk and finish in Hoofddorp, which is hosting a stage for the sixth time. For the second stage, the riders will travel to the centre of the country where Rhenen will host the race caravan for the first time. Following the start at the Ouwehands Zoo on top of the Grebbeberg, the peloton will ride north towards Alkmaar. After the finish, the entourage will pack up for a move to the East of the country.

The third stage will start in Ulft and will cover the entire Achterhoek region with a finish in Gendringen. The queen stage is traditionally in South Limburg. After the start of the fourth stage in Bocholtz, all of the famous hills of Limburg will be traversed with the peloton finishing in Voerendaal. The finale of the 61st edition will take place in Reuver where a time trial and short local circuit will be ridden.

First marquix teams confirmed

The organisers of the Royal Smilde Olympia’s Tour are proud to present five of the twenty total teams that will take part, namely:
• Rabobank Development Team (NED)
• Koga Cycling Team (NED)
• Cycling Team Jo Piels (NED)
• National Team New Zealand (NZL)
• Australian-23 National Team (AUS)

As in years past, there are a number of good teams with a lot of young talent. The interest from abroad is great but at the moment only Australia and New Zeeland can be confirmed. The Australian team made a good impression last year, in particular with a strong showing in the time trial.

Title Sponsor Royal Smilde celebrates their 150th anniversary has been valued partner of Olympia’s Tour for years. The first edition of Olympia’s Tour took place in 1909, with the start and finish in Amsterdam, which makes it the oldest stage race in the Netherlands. The race has been held every year since 1955 and is a fixture in Dutch cycling sport. The Tour is of great importance in the development of young riders both national and international. Last year, Dylan van Baarle won the Tour and in 2001 is was Jetse Bol. Of the last ten winners, 7 have become professional riders:  Jetse Bol, Taylor Phinner, Lars Boom, Tome Veelers, Stef Clement and Joost Posthuma.  Great riders are amongst the Tour winners such as: Fedor den Hartog, Roy Schuiten, Cees Priem, Gerrit Solleveld, Leo van Vliet and Henk Nijdam.

Olympias Tour Bike Pure

The route of the 61st edition Royal Smilde Olympia’s Tour:
13 May: Prologue Katwijk (ind. time trial)  … km
14 May: 1st stage Noordwijk – Hoofddorp 181,1 km
15 May: 2nd stage Rhenen – Alkmaar 173,3 km
16 May: 3rd stage Ulft – Gendringen 157,8 km
17 May: 4th stage Bocholtz – Voerendaal 192,5 km
18 May: 5th stage Reuver (time trial) 13,8 km
18 May: 6th stage Reuver – Reuver (local circuit) 79,9 km

Official Event website:
Twitter: @OlympiasTour

Watch some highlights from last year’s Olympia’s Tour on their YouTube channel: